About Me

BSc Biology Vancouver Island University – 2002 
Dip. PR University of Victoria – 2014

Mexico 2013-48My home is a an incredibly beautiful city called Victoria in a spectacular corner of the world, on an island, almost as far west as you can go in Canada.  I have followed my path through a degree in biological sciences, certification as a competitive gymnastics instructor, and a diploma in public relations. Currently I work in communications at the University of Victoria.

My life, at least the first 26 years, was devoted to the sport of gymnastics, both training and teaching at a national level. These days things are a tad less flippy and a much more about low-impact workouts, listening to podcasts and sewing as much as I can in my free time.

I began sewing at around 12 and knitting a little after. I left both of these pursuits in my early twenties and picked them up again almost 10 years later when I began doing my own nail art and gained a new appreciation for my dormant craftiness.  I love doing things myself and seeing my efforts turn into something that I can wear, or see in my home every day! I learn primarily through trial and error and YouTube videos. The more I do, the better I am getting at coming up with my own ideas and designs. My current goal is to make an entire wardrobe for myself and this blog is dedicated to sharing what I’ve learned and the techniques and tricks that I have picked up along the way – hopefully inspiring you to take on your own DIY projects.

My sewing machine: Brother NQ700 Innovis

Feel free to post questions or comments, or send me an email. I would love to hear from you!

Cheers,

Lindsay